'Motown Gospel: 20 Years | 20 Hits' Compilation Album Releases Today; Full Details

Marcus Lundin Sep 07, 2018 11:55 AM EDT
MOTOWN GOSPEL/CAPITOL CHRISTIAN MUSIC GROUP Cover for Motown Gospel's 2018 compilation album Motown Gospel: 20 Years | 20 Hits

Innovative gospel record label Motown Gospel on Friday released their new compilation album, Motown Gospel: 20 Years | 20 Hits, marking twenty years of the label's iconic and genre-defining music. The 20th-anniversary celebration journeys through the birth of EMI Gospel as a seedling artist development label, to its rise and transition into Motown Gospel, one of the most successful music labels today.

Motown Gospel: 20 Years | 20 Hits features the label's top artists and fan favorites, including award-winning artists Tye Tribbett, VaShawn Mitchell, Charles Jenkins, Micah Stampley, Lamar Campbell, Forever Jones, and more. Songs featured in the collection include: "I Need You Now," from Smokie Norful; The Tri-City Singers' "Never Seen The Righteous;" Kierra Sheard's debut single "You Don't Know;" and many more. 

In addition, the collection includes songs like "Blessed and Highly Favored," by The Clark Sisters; "Set Me Free" from Myron Butler & Levi; "Worth Fighting For," by Brian Courtney Wilson; and the career-defining "Break Every Chain" from Tasha Cobbs Leonard.

"As I compiled this collection, I was reminded of our label's unique history of bringing together iconic songs with breakthrough artists," says Monica Coates, Co-Executive Director and VP of A&R/Creative at Motown Gospel. "We are excited to share these musical memories with gospel lovers everywhere."

Finally collecting songs that have defined generations into one place, Motown Gospel: 20 Years | 20 Hits also features two bonus tracks from the label's newest stars: Gene Moore's debut single "Recover," and "Wherever I Go" from celebrity vocalist Lexi.

Motown Gospel: 20 Years | 20 Hits can be streamed or downloaded everywhere now, with links to most digital music services available here. Fans can also play or challenge their friends to Motown Gospel's interactive quiz to test their Gospel music knowledge in a game of "Name That Tune," available here.

Follow BREATHEcast for the latest news about music and projects from Motown Gospel artists, or visit the label's official website and follow them on FacebookTwitter, and YouTube.

Click below to listen to the official audio for the album's opening track, "Everyday," by Darwin Hobbs, or click here to listen on YouTube:


Motown Gospel: 20 Years | 20 Hits Tracklist:

1.    Darwin Hobbs "Everyday (feat. Michael McDonald"

2.    The Tri-City Singers "Never Seen The Righteous (Live)"

3.    The Clark Sisters "Blessed and Highly Favored (Live)"

4.    Lamar Campbell "More Than Anything"

5.    Micah Stampley "Take My Life (Live)"

6.    Smokie Norful "I Need You Now"

7.    Kierra Sheard "This Is Me (Live)"

8.    Tasha Cobbs Leonard "Put A Praise On It (feat. Kierra Sheard) [Live]"

9.    Myron Butler & Levi "Set Me Free"

10.  Kierra Sheard "You Don't Know" 

11.  Darwin Hobbs "Glorify Him" 

12.  Forever Jones "He Wants It All"

13.  Smokie Norful "God Is Able" 

14.  Brian Courtney Wilson "Worth Fighting For (Live)"

15.  VaShawn Mitchell "Nobody Greater (Live)" 

16.  Charles Jenkins & Fellowship Chicago "Awesome"

17.  Tye Tribbett "He Turned It (Radio Edit)" 

18.  The Tri-City Singers "Encourage Yourself (Live)" 

19.  Tasha Cobbs Leonard "Break Every Chain (Live)" 

20.  Gene Moore "Recover"

21.  Bonus Track: Lexi "Wherever I Go (Bonus Track)"

Don't miss

Today's playlist