Francesca Battistelli To Release New Album 'Own It' On Oct. 26 With Pre-Orders Available Today

Marcus Lundin Aug 31, 2018 11:25 PM EDT
FRANCESCA BATTISTELLI/CURB/WORD ENTERTAINMENT Cover for Francesca Battistelli's 2018 album Own It

Award-winning singer-songwriter Francesca Battistelli today announced the upcoming release of her latest album, Own It, dropping on Oct. 26 on Curb/Word Entertainment with pre-orders available today. The new ten-song project is the follow-up to her 2014 Grammy-nominated album, If We're Honest, which featured the Grammy-winning song "Holy Spirit."

Recently touted as an Artist on the Rise by YouTube Music, Battistelli co-wrote nine of the ten new songs found on Own It together with such talent as Matt Maher, Mia Fieldes, Jeff Pardo, Molly Reed, Ellie Holcomb, Seth Mosley, and Josh Bronleewe, to name a few. The album's lead single released in June, "The Breakup Song," was co-written with David Garcia and Bart Millard of MercyMe.

Speaking about the making of the new album, Battistelli says she has waited a long time to share these new songs, and that she had new music ready for an album as early as two years ago. However, over time so much changed that it would have been a completely different project than the declarative, progressive pop songs on Own It.

"I thought I had a handle on what this album was going to be, but my husband and I prayed before every songwriting session, and God gave me a completely different set of songs than I was expecting," Battistelli recalls.

"These songs are so empowering," she exclaims. "What they represent to me is my desire to own my identity in Christ, to kick fear out of my life, to own the present moment and not live in the past or even the future. I don't want to walk in half of what God has for me. I want to walk in all of it. I want to own it! And I want that for everyone who listens too."

Own It is available for pre-order and pre-save everywhere now, with links the most popular digital music services available here.

Follow BREATHEcast for the latest news about Francesca Battistelli, or visit her official website and follow her on FacebookInstagram, and YouTube.

Own It Track Listing: 

1.    The Breakup Song

2.    The Very Best

3.    Love Somebody

4.    Royalty

5.    This Could Change Everything

6.    As Good As It Gets

7.    You Belong

8.    Let The Light In

9.    Defender (feat. Steffany Gretzinger)

10.  Freedom

Don't miss

Today's playlist