Chris August Reveals More Details of Upcoming Release, 'The Upside of Down'; Unveils Album Art and Track Listing

The Media Collective PRJul 27, 2012 05:00 PM EDT

Proven hitmaker and three-time GMA Dove Award winner Chris August is now less than a month away from the release of his new album, The Upside of Down, his second for Fervent Records/Word. Not wanting to keep everything under wraps, though, August is now revealing the already buzzed-about project's cover art and track listing.

The 14-track record was co-produced by August alongside Ian Eskelin (Francesca Battistelli, Sidewalk Prophets) and was mixed by GRAMMY®-nominated engineer/producer Neal Avron (Sara Bareilles, Fall Out Boy). From now through July 31, fans can listen to the album in its entirety for the first time at Two videos have also been premiered on the site, including an official lyric video and a behind-the-scenes video.

The album's infectious lead single, "Center Of It," co-written by August and songwriter Ben Glover, is bulleting up the charts at radio, jumping six spots at Christian AC Monitored this week from No. 18 to No. 12, landing in the Top 10 at No. 8 on AC Indicator, coming in at No. 16 on CHR and rising three spots on the National Audience Chart from No. 16 to 13.

Early praise for The Upside of Down is already pouring in, including this glowing preview from New Release Tuesday:

"The Upside of Down is one of the most compelling and lyrically transparent albums of the year. Chris has vaulted himself amongst the industry's top singer-songwriters with an album that rivals the latest by Bebo Norman, Brandon Heath and Jason Gray. As it turns out, we only scratched the surface of August's soulful, inspiring and meaningful storytelling with his GMA Dove Award winning debut album. If you want to be challenged, moved, and get deeper with Chris August, don't miss out on this practically perfect album. Several of these songs are instant classics and for sure, August is the frontrunner for Pop/Contemporary Album, Artist, and Male Vocalist of the Year."

Track listing for The Upside of Down:

1. Center of It

2. The Upside of Down

3. Amen

4. This Side of Heaven

5. Restore

6. Let There Be Light

7. I Believe

8. 1989

9. Unashamed of You

10. A Little More Jesus

11. Let The Music Play

12. Water Into Wine

13. Meant To Be

14. Truth Is Still True

Gearing up for the August 21 launch of The Upside of Down, August has maintained a busy schedule with a special trip to Colorado last week. He visited the staff of Focus on the Family and volunteered his time with the KLOVE-partnered Denver ShareFest, a public school service project. The Denver Sharefest brought help and hope with no strings attached to over 20 Denver public schools last week, saving the metro school system over $1 million in labor and materials. 

In addition, this week saw August help label mates Group 1 Crew celebrate their first No. 1 hit, "He Said," on which he is featured.  The track, which is the debut single from the duo's forthcoming album, Fearless, rose quickly to the top spot on the CHR chart earlier this summer.

This fall, August will join the "Eye On It Tour" with TobyMac and Jamie Grace, and later, the TobyMac "HITS Deep Tour" alongside Brandon Heath, Mandisa, Britt Nicole, Jamie Grace and Group 1 Crew. He is currently touring across the country throughout the summer. To view his tour schedule, visit

About Chris August: 

Upon his debut in 2010, Fervent Records' Chris August quickly became a favorite in the CCM genre. With an impressive sweep at the 42nd Annual Dove Awards, he earned awards for "New Artist of the Year" and "Male Vocalist of the Year," adding him to an elite group of only three artists in the history of the show who have received both awards. He also claimed the nod for "Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year" for his debut album No Far Away. The album delivered August's debut single "Starry Night," which stayed No. 1 for six consecutive weeks on Billboard's Christian/AC chart. Chris August will release his much anticipated sophomore record The Upside of Down in August of 2012, which was painstakingly crafted and co-produced with award-winning producer Ian Eskelin. August is a self-taught pianist, guitarist, and producer who has previously toured with pop sensation Ashlee Simpson and has worked/co-wrote with artists such as Ryan Cabrera, Brian McKnight and Jessica Simpson before shifting his focus to a solo career.

Don't miss

Today's playlist