Chris August Independently Releases Inspiring New Album 'Seasons'

Marcus Lundin Jun 06, 2018 12:11 AM EDT
CHRIS AUGUSTCover for Chris August's 2018 independently released album Seasons.

Award-winning singer-songwriter Chris August on Monday released the new full-length album Seasons, marking his first independent release since 2008. The album follows August's three previous albums with Fervent/Word, which include 2010's No Far AwayThe Upside of Down from 2012, and 2015's The Maker.

August says the new album was born out of a deep desire to get back to making music that was creative and authentic to who he is as an artist and says the new songs on Seasons are "full of inspiration without constraints." The album's first single "Nothing's Beyond Broken" is going for adds on radio in August but can already be streamed at the end of this article.

"I love the journey and the seasons we go through in life," August explains. "I felt like this release needed to be called Seasons because of where I am in my career, newly stepping out as an independent artist and excited to get this music out into the world."

"I'm in a different season now since my last release," the three-time Dove Award-winner continues. "I've gotten married, I've grown in my faith, and now I'm releasing music on my own for the first time in [ten] years. I've worked hard to pour myself into all elements of it from the writing to producing... and it's finally time to share with everyone. It's my hope that these songs will encourage, inspire, and challenge people in the season of life they're walking through now."

August quickly rose to prominence in the Christian music world, garnering him an impressive sweep at the 42ndAnnual Dove Awards, where he was awarded New Artist of the Year and Male Vocalist of the Year, earning him the place among only three artists in the history of the show to have earned the two accolades.

Stay tuned to BREATHEcast to get the latest on Chris August and his upcoming projects and tour dates, or visit his official website and follow him on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and YouTube.

Click below to listen to the upcoming radio single "Nothing's Beyond Broken" from Seasons, and click here for links to download or stream the new album:

Seasons track listing

1.    Nothing's Beyond Broken

2.    Seasons

3.    Lips

4.    Worry

5.    Delivery

6.    Moonlight

7.    You and Me

8.    Everything

Don't miss

Today's playlist