Bluegrass Quartet The Farm Hands Releases New Album 'Good Things'

Marcus Lundin Sep 11, 2018 12:02 PM EDT
THE FARM HANDS/PINECASTLE RECORDS Cover for The Farm Hands' 2018 album Good Things

Bluegrass quartet The Farm Hands on Friday released their latest album, Good Things, on Pinecastle Records. The follow-up to the group's 2017 award-winning hit album, Colors, the new project features twelve all-new recordings, including a special bonus track, all showcasing the band's signature American music style.

"We try to be true to the kinds of songs our fans have come to expect from us," The Farm Hands member Daryl Mosley says. "We stay close to songs about family, faith, love, and life as it used to be or should still be."

"I believe stories about simpler times and salt of the earth people are timeless," he continues. "From William Faulkner and Mark Twain to Guy Clark and Larry Cordle, the lives of smalltown, close-knit people resonate with most of us. I think that's especially true with bluegrass fans. And it certainly represents the parts of American life we want to celebrate in our music."

Earlier this summer, fans were able to catch the first glimpse of Good Things with the release of its lead single, "Hillbilly Graham," telling the story about a farmer's life and how he always strives to do good, despite what other people might perceive. The track entered the Bluegrass Today Gospel Weekly Airplay Chart at No. 8, and continues to climb.

Recorded at Underground Studios, Good Things features a collection of songs that the group says hit the highest of highs and the lowest of lows, promising something for all music enthusiasts. The Farm Hands wrote or co-wrote the majority of the songs featured on the album, which features a combination of upbeat sing-alongs and slow ballads.

Starting the year in a big way, The Farm Hands was awarded Bluegrass Band of the Year at the 42nd Annual SPBGMA Bluegrass Music Awards, while also taking home the top honors for Album of the Year for Colors, and Song of the Year for "Rural Route." In addition, band member Tim Graves was awarded Dobro Performer of the Year.

Good Things is available for streaming and purchase everywhere now, with links to many music retailers and services available here.

Follow BREATHEcast for the latest news about The Farm Hands, or visit their official website for tour dates and more information and follow them on FacebookTwitter, and YouTube.

Good Things Track Listing:

1. Hillbilly Graham

2. Good Things

3. Thank You, God

4. Long Way To Virginia

5. Draining The Swamp

6. Daddy's Shoes

7. Southern Sunday Morning

8. I'd Write You

9. Please Don't Tell Me Goodbye

10. Dixie Breakdown

11. What Am i Living For

12. Still The Solid Rock

13. IOU (Bonus Track)

Don't miss

Today's playlist