2013 Dove Music Awards. 44th Annual GMA Dove Music Awards Ceremony. Dove Awards Winners for 2013. Dove Awards at Lipscomb University. 2013 Dove Awards Recap

Brianna BromleyOct 16, 2013 03:01 PM EDT

The 44th Annual GMA Dove Awards ceremony wrapped up last night at Nashville's own, Lipscomb University. Nashville's "Gospel Music Biggest Night" didnt come soon enough with the selection of Christian music stars performing at Allen Arena, making Nashville the major hub for faith based music. For over four decades, the GMA Dove Awards have honored the  outstanding achievements of those who have climbed to the top in Gospel Music. The most anticipated music event of the year celebrates the rich diversity in the Chrsitian Music arena and awards those who sing Rock, Hip-Hop, R&B, Pop, Bluegrass and more all in one night.

At the 2013 GMA Dove Awards, in just record numbers, British songwriter, Matt Redman, stole the show by taking home a total of six wins this year. His six wins included songwriter and song of the year for his "10,00 Reasons". Yet, one of the top Chrisitan music artist of the year, Toby Mac, took home one of the most sought after awards, 'Artists of the Year'. Other atists including Jason Crabb, Hendersonville's 'Southern Gospel Performance of the Year' , and Nashville duo King & Country for 'New Artist of the Year'. Amy Grant and Kirk Franklin greeted Allen Arena with a warm welcome as the presenters told fans that , " the Dove Awards would honor and showcase the best and the brightest, we'll respect our roots and get excited about the future". Franklin made a quick joke at the Doves founder, Bill Gaither, " Tonight, there will be no twerking", as she showed her fondness for going off script. 

Other winners included Mandisa, Nashville Christian and Reality Tv star, for 'uplift someone award' stating in her speech, " It is my absolute joy and privelage to be able to make music, and to share it with my brothers and sisters in Christ.". The 'Gospel Performance of the Year' went to Tasha Cobbs and Ed Cash was awarded ' Producer of the Year'. To check out more on the 44th Annual GMA Dove Awards, go to their site.  

Don't miss

Today's playlist