Stryper Releasing New Studio Album 'God Damn Evil' On April 20

Marcus Lundin Feb 19, 2018 05:42 PM EST
StryperCover for Stryper's 2018 album God Damn Evil.

Christian metal band Stryper rocks on, announcing their 10th studio project God Damn Evil slated for release on April 20. Along with the announcement, the band also takes out the thrash on the new single "Take It To The Cross."

Stryper is celebrating their 35th anniversary this year after forming in the early 1980s, and on God Damn Evil the band is going all in with the hard rock/heavy metal sound that has earned them a worldwide fan base.

Regarding the album's title, Stryper frontman Michael Sweet says, "We thought long and hard about this title. It was actually considered quite a few years ago and it just didn't feel like the right time."

"Now, with all the evil in the world that we see around us on a daily basis, it made perfect sense," Sweet continues. "It's a very bold statement yet a prayer asking God to damn/condemn evil. Nothing more, nothing less."

God Damn Evil is the band's first release since adding bass player Perry Richardson, who joins original members Michael Sweet (vocals and guitar), Robert Sweet (drums) and Oz Fox (guitar). Perry is best known as a founding member of the multi-platinum band Firehouse.

The new single accompanying the album, "Take It To The Cross" features the band's signature melodic rock but also incorporates elements from other genres, including the thrash metal genre. As a result, the band has managed to strike a nerve with long-time fans, seeing a wild debate on social media with fans either loving it or hating it.

Watch the official visualizer video for "Take It To The Cross" below and decide for yourself:

The new album and single can be pre-ordered and listened to here. For more information about Stryper, visit the band's official website, Facebook, and Twitter.

Full track-listing for God Damn Evil below:

1. Take It To The Cross

2. Sorry

3. Lost

4. God Damn Evil

5. You Don't Even Know Me

6. The Valley

7. Sea Of Thieves

8. Beautiful

9. Can't Live Without Your Love

10. Own Up

11. The Devil Doesn't Live Here

Don't miss

Breathecast Staff Picks - Christian Gift Guide

Today's playlist