New 'Samson' Movie Trailer Impresses Ahead Of Feb. 16 Theatrical Release; Soundtrack Out Feb. 2

Marcus Lundin Jan 23, 2018 12:45 PM EST

Recently the official trailer for the upcoming movie "Samson" was released, giving a sneak peek into what moviegoers and home viewers can expect from the film, which is based on the Biblical story of the man chosen by God as the last judge for Israel. The movie is slated for theatrical release Feb. 16 nationwide.

"Samson" tells the story of the title character Samson (Taylor James), chosen to judge Israel, whose supernatural strength and impulsive decisions soon finds him fighting the oppressive Philistine empire. After he is betrayed by a wicked prince and a beautiful temptress, Samson is eventually captured and blinded by his enemies. Finally, Samson calls upon God once more for supernatural strength and turns his blindness and imprisonment into final victory, the synopsis says.

The trailer focuses in on Samson in an intense action scene, facing down 1,000 Philistine soldiers with only the jawbone of a donkey as his weapon. It also teases his meeting with Delilah and her subsequent betrayal, as well as Samson's final moments as he tears down the Philistine temple upon himself and his captors.

You can watch the trailer below:

"Samson" is directed by Bruce Macdonald and was shot on location in South Africa and is a production of Pure Flix ("God's Not Dead," "God's Not Dead 2," "Woodlawn"), who tried to make the film adhere as closely as possible to the time era and the Biblical account.

On Monday, fans got the opportunity to ask lead actor Taylor James question about his role as Samson on the film's official Facebook page, and earlier this month, a novelization based on the film written by author Eric Wilson was released.

The official soundtrack for the film, Samson: Songs From And Inspired By the Motion Picture, is slated for release Feb. 2 with pre-orders available now on iTunes, Apple Music, Google Play and Amazon here. The album features 10 tracks from a wide range of worship leaders and churches.

Full album track listing:

1. The Rock Music - "One More Time (feat. Steele Croswhite)"

2. Emmanuel Church - "Stronger (feat. Eunice Rodriguez)"

3. Seacoast Worship - "Strength And Victory"

4. Cindy Cruse Ratcliff - "Call Down Power"

5. April Nevels - "Nothing To Lose (from The Potter's House)"

6. MUSITRY - "Reconciled (feat. Joel Kibble of Take 6)"

7. New Season Christian Worship Center - "Forbidden Love (feat. Elmer Canas Jr.)"

8. Encounter Worship - "Redemption (feat. Alfonso Hernandez)"

9. The Cloud Music - "Home"

10. Cindy Cruse Ratcliff - "Keep The Faith"

Don't miss

Breathecast Staff Picks - Christian Gift Guide

Today's playlist